Burke River Trail Association, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt nonprofit corporation, has a Board of Directors comprised of  4 officers of the organization (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer), and at least 3 members-at-large. The board meets quarterly and as needed.

Val Scott, President
Val and her husband moved to Valdese from Maryland. She is a road biker and a trail hiker. She is immediate past president of the Catawba Valley Outdoor Club and serves on the Burke River Trail Association Board. Val enjoys giving back to the community while improving outdoor opportunities for all by volunteering with FVR, Foothills Conservancy and Lake James Environmental Association.

Christa Pearson, Treasurer
Hiker who is gives back by volunteering with many organizations.

Carroll Hoyle, Board Member
lives in Rutherford College and serves the town as Chairman Planning, Adjustment and Recreation Board Rutherford College. He is originally from Hildebran adding to his knowledge of small towns in the county.

Rick Justice, Board Member
has been Mayor of the Town of Rhodhiss and is now the Town Manager. He is an incredible mechanic and is the biggest fan of his granddaughter.

Shelly Gref, Board Member
has been in the restaurant business for over 25 year and during that time has worked with over 20 nonprofit and community organizations. She understands the importance of businesses being a true community partner. That is what she and her husband, Paul have built with their three Copper Penny locations – one located on the Burke River Trail – Copper Penny Grill Lake Hickory. As a mom of adult twin sons and a whiz in marketing, Shelly brings many skills to the board.

Margaret Curry, Board Member
Studied Recreation Management and lives on the lake between Valdese and Drexel. Involved with Grow with Drexel.

Melinda Wallichs, Board Member
Lives in Connelly Springs and works at East Burke Animal Hospital.

Diane Speigle, Board Member
Serves on the Hildebran Planning Board.

Michael Lowther, Board Member
Owner of Overmountain Cycles

  Val Scott
VP: Open
Secretary: Open
Treasurer: Christa Pearson

Business Leader Board Members:
Copper Penny Grill: Shelly Gref
Overmountain Cycles: Michael Lowther

Area Board Members:
Morganton: (Christa)
Drexel: Margaret Bumgarner
Valdese: (Val)
Rutherford College: Carroll Hoyle
Connelly Springs: Melinda Wallrichs
Rhodhiss: Rick Justice
Long View: 
Hildebran: Diane Speigle